How to Unpublish WordPress Site?

Affiliate disclosure: In full transparency – some of the links on our website are affiliate links, if you use them to make a purchase we will earn a commission at no additional cost for you (none whatsoever!).

Do you want to unpublish WordPress site?

You might want to unpublish WordPress pages so you can edit them or keep them private. Or, you need to hide certain pages from certain user groups.

Almost every website owner wants a lot of people to visit their sites. Writing good content, focusing on popular long-tail keywords, and optimising both on-site and off-site SEO are all ways to get your site to rank higher. You may have done the same thing.

Still, there may be times when you need to keep people away from your site. It could be a website that is down for maintenance, a private blog, or a network that is only for employees. In these situations, you must hide the content of your WordPress site from the public by any means necessary.

You can shut down your WordPress site in a number of ways. Setting up a “coming soon” page lets people know that the site isn’t ready yet. You can also protect the directories of your website with a password at the server level.

Why should you unpublish a WordPress page?

When you’re building a WordPress website, you make pages and publish them so that people can see them.

But there may be times when you don’t want other people to be able to see these pages.

For instance, maybe you’ve changed your mind about some pages and want to change the way your site works. Or, you may have published a page that you don’t want people to see by accident.

WordPress makes it easy to remove pages from your site, hide them from visitors, limit who can see them, and more.

Step By Step Guide To Unpublish WordPress Site

Unpublishing Single Page site

Unpublishing a page removes it from your website while still allowing you to change and republish it later.

The simplest approach to accomplish this is to make the page a draught. This conceals the page from visitors to your website, but logged in users can still view and edit it from the page dashboard.

This is a wonderful choice if you’ve found errors on the page or wish to improve the material.

To do so, go to Pages > All Pages, mouse over the page, and click the ‘Edit’ option.

This will take you to the page editor. Then, at the top of the page, click the ‘Switch to draught’ link. This displays a popup asking if you want to save the page as a draught.

Simply press the “OK” button.

Unpublishing Multiple Pages at once

You can have a lot of pages that you no longer need or only want to change if you’re revamping or relocating a website to a new domain. You can unpublish or delete them all at once rather than doing it one at a time.

To accomplish this, go to Pages » All Pages, check the box next to the pages you want to unpublish, and then click Save.

You will then be given a box where you can choose to mark multiple pages as draughts. Simply choose “Edit” from the “Bulk actions” drop-down menu, then click “Apply.”

Then click “Update” after choosing “Draft” from the “Status” drop-down box.

By choosing “Move to trash” from the “Bulk choices” drop-down menu, you can easily delete numerous pages at once.

Next, select “Apply.”

By selecting the ‘Trash’ menu item, you may see the pages that are now in the trash.

Select “Delete permanently” from the “Bulk actions” drop-down menu after checking the box next to the pages you want to totally remove.
Click the “Apply” button after that.

Only delete pages you are certain you won’t need in the future because doing so permanently removes them from your website and prevents their restoration.

How to make a WordPress page private or password protected?

You can make certain portions of your WordPress blog secret by password locking a WordPress page.

This is useful if you want to set up a separate section of your website for clients or team members. It might also be beneficial if you want to hide specific sections of your website while it is still being built.

To begin, open the page you wish to password protect. Then, in the right-hand menu, select ‘Public’ from the ‘Visibility’ option.

Then, check the ‘Password Protected’ box and enter your password.

Conclusion

When the time comes that you no longer wish to maintain your blog, you should be aware that you have a few options, including backing it up or unpublishing your WordPress site (leaving yourself a chance to restore it in the future). It is better to understand how to unpublish a WordPress site or make a copy of its database regardless of which choice you like.

Also Read: 

Diksha Dutt

A graduate of the IIMC, Diksha enjoys talking about self-growth and online learning platforms. Diksha has a passion for education and entrepreneurship, and she has been involved in both fields for over a decade. She aims to help others make more informed decisions about the best online resources, courses, and education platforms. She writes about online learning platforms and online courses on Megablogging.org, where she reviews and recommends the best resources for different skill levels and goals. When Diksha is not working, she enjoys reading books, playing chess, and traveling with her husband and two kids. You can follow her on LinkedIn and FaceBook.

Leave a Comment

0 Shares
Tweet
Share
Share
Pin